Many of the apps for Stop-motion include a shot timer for creation of time-lapse video. This video is my first experiment with time-lapse.   I set up my iPhone to take pictures every 30 seconds while I made a wet felted bowl. What I learned was you really need to think about how quickly a process moves before setting a time.  For this process I probably should have set it for every 15 seconds or less.  If I were setting up to time-lapse a snowfall on the other hand, I would set the timer at it's maximum - the app I used (Stop Motion Studio Pro) has a top limit of one minute, not long enough for an average snowfall rate.
   About halfway through I  realized I should check the camera angle every so often. I thought I had moved away from the camera more than I had.
   I hope to find an opportunity to use this technique to create a time-lapse of a science experiment!





Leave a Reply.